Blog Day 2007

by

Apparently today is Blog Day, a day in which we write about five new/favorite blogs.

In no particular order:

(1) “The Tree of Life” by Jonathan Eisen. Jonathan is on faculty at UC Davis, researching evolutionary biology. He recently co-authored this textbook, which I’m currently reading (and very much enjoying).

(2) PLoS Computational Biology. This isn’t really a blog, per se. Actually, it’s just the RSS feed for the journal of the ISCB. So why did I pick this “blog”? Answer: The Public Library of Science (PLoS) is a great example of open-access research. Because PLoS is open-access, I can read scientific publications FOR FREE in Google Reader, instead of paying monthly/annual subscriptions.

(3) “Imbibable: the world’s most comprehensive beverage review source”, by Abi Jones. Abi’s latest consumer blog is basically hilarious. Abi has a talent for combining practical consumer information with witty humor. Other Abi Jones projects include: Heat Eat Review, The Impulse Buy, and Stupid Wedding Crap.

(4) “A Softer World”. Sometimes humorous, sometimes painful, always inventive.

(5) “TracyFood”, by Tracy van Cort. Tracy cooks delicious food, and writes about it.

Enjoy. Happy Blog Day 2007.

6 Responses to “Blog Day 2007”

  1. davelucas Says:

    Happy Blog Day 2007! Please stop by my Blog Day post and leave your link!
    http://dave-lucas.blogspot.com

  2. Abi Jones Says:

    Hey Victor, thanks for the link. My other, newest review blog is Snack Lounge. The Impulsive Buy is actually written by a guy in Hawaii, not me.

    Well, unless I suddenly aged, became Asian, got a dirtier sense of humor and moved to Hawaii. Then I suppose it would be me.

  3. Abi Jones Says:

    Also, every time I see your subdomain I think it says Flaming o’Vic as though you’re some Tiki-Irish drink.

  4. Abi Jones Says:

    Also part 2: Thanks for reminding me about A Softer World. It is terrific and I just need to remember to read it.

    Feel free to combine all of these comments so that I don’t look quite so comment-whoreish.

  5. Tracy Says:

    Hi Victor! Thanks for the shout-out! I consider A Softer World more of a webcomic than a blog, but Overqualified is something else entirely.

  6. Victor Says:

    The definition of “a blog” is very confusing. There are many websites which are not formatted as blogs, but they’re updated semi-daily and can be consumed via RSS. Does this make them a blog? I don’t know.

Leave a Reply

