Sabbath, or something like it

by

I just spent ten hours writing C code, but I spent most of the time catching silly typographic errors in the compiler. Was that really productive?

My problem is that I keep working through the weekend. Too many times, I arrive at Monday morning exhausted from a 48-hour code marathon. I like working hard to make things excellent, but we have to draw some boundaries.

So, my resolution is to practice a self-enforced Sabbath. However, my Sabbath isn’t always on Sunday, or Saturday, or whatever-day. If the weather is nice, and I’ve been working hard for several days, then its Sabbath.

So this week? I’m going hiking on Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

